2016 ACP Oregon Chapter Laureate Award

Richard WernickRichard Wernick, M.D., FACP
PPMC Medical Education Faculty
Regional Director of Continuing Medical Education, PH&S Assistant Director of Rheumatology Training, PPMC Associate Professor of Medicine, Division of Rheumatology, OHSU

Dr. Richard Wernick has tirelessly given to the field of Medicine as he is recognized as an outstanding clinician, educator, and mentor to many. Dr. Wernick has contributed immeasurably to the medical community. He has been recognized with the Faculty Teacher of the Year, Top Doctor Award in Portland, the Sister St. Vincent De Paul Award for leadership in advancement of diversity, and very recently Best Doctors in America. He was the recipient of the Oregon Chapter ACP Howard P. Lewis Distinguished Teaching Award. Dr. Wernick has been an outstanding educator for residents and medical students, serving in an exemplary leadership role. He enjoys his role in Continuing Medical Education helping to bring the highest quality of education and professional development experiences for his colleagues.

Within the Oregon Chapter ACP, he has served on the Scientific Meeting Planning Committee since 2005, and is a constant supporter of the annual Oregon Chapter Resident and Medical Student Competition.

Beyond this compilation of achievements, Dr. Wernick’s humanism and dedication to education shines above all. With his exemplary career in teaching and dedication to Internal Medicine, Dr. Wernick is a role model for all Internists. For all his is and has done, the Oregon Chapter American College of Physicians is proud to recognize Dr. Wernick as the recipient of the 2016 Laureate Award.

2016 PPMC Department of Medical Education Alumni Achievement Award Recipients

ChristopherDaleChristopher Dale, M.D.
PPMC IM Residency: Alumnus Class of 2007
Medical Director Quality & Value, Pulmonary & Critical Care Medicine, Swedish Medical Group, Greater Seattle Area

Originally from Bellevue, Washington, Chris holds a BA from the University of Washington and an MD from Northwestern University in Chicago. He completed a Transitional Internship in San Diego and was then a Flight Surgeon with the Marines in Yuma, AZ. After leaving the Navy, Christopher completed his internal medicine residency and chief residency year at Providence Portland Medical Center. He worked as a Hospitalist for a year at Skagit Valley Hospital before doing his Pulmonary and Critical Care Fellowship at the University of Washington. There he earned his MPH in Health Services, with a research focus on order sets and protocols in the intensive care unit.

Ruth MarkeeJanan Markee, M.D.
PPMC IM Residency: Alumnus Class of 2006
Physician-Hospitalist, Providence Portland Medical Center, Portland, OR

Dr. Janan Markee has been committed to international health care and development since she was a teenager.  With her family she was worked tirelessly to grow the healthcare available to their Haitian community.  Through the Haiti Foundation for Hope they have built clinics and schools.  They have led multiple trips of providers to both teach and to provide care in Haiti.  Many of these providers have come from the local Providence Portland group of doctors and nurses.  This in turn has influenced our hospital and our providers to have a broader more compassionate outlook.

Marianne ParshleyMarianne Parshley, M.D.
PPMC IM Residency: Alumnus Class of 1987
Physician-Internal Medicine, Providence Medical Group, Portland, OR

Dr. Marianne Parshley has committed herself to medical political work as a way of improving the care of patients and improving the quality of professional life of physicians.  She has held a variety of leadership positions at Providence Portland, in the Metropolitan Medical Society of Portland, the OMA and most recently in her election to Governor of the Oregon Chapter of the ACP.


2016 Dr. George E. Miller Patient Safety Award

David GilbertDavid Gilbert, M.D.
Infectious Diseases 
Previously, Director of Medical Education (35+ years)

Dr. David Gilbert was nominated by his peers and selected by the OMA Community Health & Quality Committee as the 2016 recipient of the OMA’s George E. Miller Patient Safety Award. He was honored at the 142nd Annual OMA Meeting on April 23, 2016. Dr. Gilbert is chief of the infectious diseases program at Providence Portland Medical Center and a professor of medicine at Oregon Health & Science University. He was director of medical education at Providence Portland for more than 35 years. He is senior editor of the Sanford Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy, as well as the Sanford Guide to HIV/AIDS Therapy, which are updated annually and distributed worldwide. Read More ›

2016 Hastings Center Cunniff-Dixon Senior Physician Award

Marian HodgesMarian Hodges, M.D., M.P.H.
Bain Chair of Geriatrics 
Palliative Care/Geriatrics/Ethics
PPMC Medical Education Faculty

Dr. Marian Hodges received the prestigious award for end-of-life care from the Hastings Center. It’s not every day that a Providence physician becomes the sixth recipient of a prestigious national award. Learn why Marian Hodges, M.D., Bain Chair of Geriatric Medicine and regional medical director for geriatrics, was honored with the Hastings Center Cunniff-Dixon Physician Award.  Read More ›